NCBAA

How to Get Licensed

 

Bounty Hunting and Bail Enforcement are not legal in North Carolina.  Any person conducting Bail Bond business in the state must hold a license issued by the North Carolina Department of Insurance.

Obtaining a Bail Bond License and Pre-licensing Information

Call 919-832-0867 for more details or

check below for dates.

Cost Breakdown for Obtaining a License:

These are the cost for items listed in legislation.  There may be other cost.  This should be discussed with your Supervising Agent.  This class covers all license applications and is designed for students with no knowledge of bail bond laws.

Pre-licensing Class Tuition:
$500 (two day class including classroom test)
 
License Application:
$233 – Runner License (works for a Professional Bondsman)
                    OR
$313 – Surety Bondsman License
                                                                 
State Bail Bond License Exam:
$51.50
 

All classes are held at NCBAA Headquarters unless otherwise noted.   The headquarters office  is located at 4010 Barrett Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh  27609

2014-2015 PLE Class Dates

September 27-28 (weekend) Raleigh

October 6-7 (weekday) Raleigh

October 18-19 (weekend) Raleigh

October 25-26 (weekend) Raleigh

November 3-4 (weekday) Raleigh

November 15-16 (weekend) Raleigh

November 22-23 (weekend) Raleigh

December 1-2 (weekday) Raleigh

December 13-14 (weekend) Raleigh

 

2014-2015 PLE SCHEDULE (THRU DECEMBER)

Registrations may be mailed with MO or Certified Check to PO Box 19663, Raleigh, 27619, faxed with Credit Card information to 1-866-249-7020,  emailed with Credit Card information to info@ncbaa.com or you can register online-all registrations are due by 5:00 pm the day before the class date you wish to attend.  Once registration is closed, you may still contact the office at 919-832-0867 to see if any seats are still available.

If you do not plan to attend any PLE class and require a refund, a request must be made in writing and only 1/2 of the paid tuition is refundable.  There is no refund for a class that has been taken.

Need to spend the night in Raleigh?  Ramada Inn at 1520 Blue Ridge Rd in Raleigh offers people attending NCBAA functions a room rate of $59.00 per night.  To get this discount,  contact the hotel directly at 919-832-4100 and mention that you want the NCBAA Discounted Room Rate.  The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the office and offers a hot buffet breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, outdoor swimming pool, fitness room and a full service restaurant and bar.

Each applicant for a Bail Bond License must attend a Pre-licensing Class and pass a comprehensive PLE test that is given on the second day of the session in order to receive their PLE certificate of completion.  PLE Certificates are valid for six months from the date the class is successfully completed.  

 As of October 1, 2010, you must pass a comprehensive test at the end of the PLE class in order to receive your certificate of completion for the class.

Pass/Fail notification for the PLE class test as well as the exam score will be emailed to the email address provided by the individual student within 48 hours of your class.
If you do not receive your grade, please contact NCBAA at 919-832-0867.

Prelicensing Study Guide Download

If you did not pass your Pre-licensing test, contact our office to reschedule your test.  Re-tests must be completed within 90 days of failed exam.  Students not re-testing within 90 must take Pre-Licensing class again.

Weekday classes are from 8:40 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  The comprehensive test will be on Tuesday from 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm.  Weekend classes are for 8:40 am to 5:00 pm.  The comprehensive test will be on Sunday from 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

Pre-licensing class requirements and location:

  • As of July 1, 2002, you must attend the pre-licensing class prior to applying for a license
  • Pre-registration and a photo ID are required for all classes
  • Refunds must be requested in writing prior to class.  Only 1/2 of tuition is refundable
  • There is no refund for a class that has been taken.

Weekday Pre-licensing classes are held at:
NCBAA, 4010 Barrett Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, 27609

 from 9:00am to 5:00pm each day

Weekend Pre-licensing classes are held at:
NCBAA, 4010 Barrett Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, 27609
from 9:00am to 5:00pm each day.

If any Pre-Licensing Class reaches capacity for our Raleigh office, a larger venue will be secured to accommodate our students.

Following are the qualifications for obtaining a Bail Bond License according to North Carolina General Statute §58-71-50:
1. You must be a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least six
consecutive months before making application for a bail bondsman and/or
bail bond runner license.
2. You must be at least 18 years of age.
3. Have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent
4. Have knowledge, training, or experience of sufficient duration and extent to
provide the competence necessary to fulfill the responsibilities of a licensee.
5. Have no outstanding bail bond obligations.
6. Have no current or prior violations of Article 71 of Chapter 58 of the North
Carolina General Statutes or of Article 26 of Chapter 15A of the North
Carolina General Statutes.
7. Not have been in any manner disqualified under North Carolina law or any
other state to engage in the bail bond business.
8. Hold a valid and current North Carolina driver’s license or valid North
Carolina identification card issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
 
Additional considerations for someone wishing to apply for a Bail Bond License according to North Carolina General Statute §NCGS 58-71-105:
 
• Sheriff, deputy sheriff, other law enforcement officer, judicial official, attorney,
parole officer, probation officer, jailer, assistance jailer, employee of the General
Court of Justice, nor any other public employee assigned to duties relating to
the administration of the criminal justice, nor the spouse of any such person.Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute §NCGS 58-71-80 (b), the following
does not meet the licensing qualifications:
• A person who is or has ever been convicted of a felony.
Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute §NCGS 58-71-80 (b2), the following
does not meet the licensing qualifications:
• A person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor drug violation within
the previous 24 months.
 

As of December 18, 2012,  All Applications Are Submitted Electronically.

The North Carolina License Management System (NCLMS) is now ready to accept electronic applications for initial or additional bail bond licenses.  All applicants for a bail bond license must now complete an electronic application through NCLMS. The electronic application has been designed to increase the efficiency and speed of the licensing process for bail bond applicants.There is a new Bail Bond Candidate Guide posted on the website in the following location:New Candidate Guide  December 2012The new electronic application can be accessed by going directly to the North Carolina License Management System on the Department’s website www.ncdoi.com under Online Services for Bail Bondsmen: http://www.ncdoi.com/ASD/ASD_BailBondsmen.aspx
 
Initial Bail Bond License FAQS have been posted on Department’s website and under Newsroom/DOI News on this site: http://www.ncdoi.com/ASD/ASD_BailBondsmen_FAQs.aspx
 
You can also get answers to your questions about the new process by contacting the North Carolina Licensing Office of Pearson VUE directly for assistance:
 
PHONE (Toll Free): 866-265-6329 
 
E-MAIL: NorthCarolinaLicensingOffice@pearson.com  
 
US MAIL:
NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE
PO Box 14209
Raleigh, NC 27620o    FAX: 919-313-4706

The applicant will still need a Supervising agent for one year and be required to take a Pre-licensing Class.